Herby Italian Vegan Meatballs (oil & GF)

I’ve been vegan a couple of years now and one of my favourite meals before I went vegan was meatballs with spaghetti.  I loved how the herbs in the meatballs melded with the sauce and pasta.  Three parts imperfect by themselves but together sheer bliss!  So I set out to recreate what I loved in a vegan meatball.

My first attempts weren’t bitey enough, I over processed the ingredients.  They also needed a bit more texture and things to enhance the Italian flavours.  Walnuts, pine nuts and olives helped a lot.  

The result is a herby treat – they taste just like the meatballs I used to enjoy, the texture is different, because it’s made from beans, but the nuts provide a bit of bite and the rice makes them firm. I’m sure you’re going to love them!

This recipe has a lot of flexibility, amp up the herbs to suit your taste, process to your preferred texture, really make them your own!

I hope you enjoy these meatballs.  Do share this recipe with your friends and don’t forget to tag me on IG or FB if you do make them – I love seeing people’s creations!

Join me on my YouTube channel for new whole foods vegan recipes and ideas every week.

Prep time: 5 minutes
Cooking time: 40 minutes
(Makes 18 – 20 meatballs)

Ingredients

1 drained 400 g (14 oz) can Aduki Beans
100 g cooked shortgrain brown rice
20 g (0.7 oz) oats
20 g (0.7 oz) crushed walnuts
15 g tomato paste / puree
10 g pine nuts
1 red onion finely chopped
2 cloves finely minced garlic
3 tbsp chickpea flour + 3 tbsp water
10 pitted black olives
Handful chopped fresh parsley
1 tbsp brown miso
1/4 tsp fresh rosemary
1/2 tsp dried thyme
1 tsp dried oregano
2 tsp dried basil
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp smoked paprika
1 tsp onion powder

Method

  1. Preheat oven 170°c fan / 190°c conventional / 375°f
  2. Water fry onion and garlic until caramelised
  3. Add all ingredients to a food processor and pulse to the required consistency
  4. Roll into balls and place on a tray lined with parchment
  5. Bake in a preheated oven for 35 – 30 minutes
  6. Serve with Italian tomato sauce and spaghetti – recipe for super simple tomato sauce – https://youtu.be/gOW3nRg1NjI

Watch me make it:

Leave a Reply

